Julius Benton Memorial Scholarship

Each year in conjunction with the Georgia 4-H Foundation Achievement Scholarship presentation, the Georgia Association of Extension 4-H Youth Development Professionals recognizes one 4-H’er with the Julius Benton Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded in memory of Mr. Julius Benton. Mr. Benton was an outstanding 4-H volunteer in Georgia 4-H. In 1977, he was recognized as the third recipient of the Friend of 4-H Award, one of the highest honors bestowed by our association. He was employed by Savannah Sugar Company, and during his time as a volunteer, not only were Savannah Sugar packets branded with the 4-H emblem served in the Rock Eagle dining hall, but he also gave them to 4-H’ers he met through volunteering at events. Because of this, he was affectionally given the nickname “Sugar Man.”

2023 Recipient: Bailey Hutchins, Toombs County

(L-R) Bailey Hutchins, Award Recipient; Jeffrey Burke, GAE4-HYDP Past President

Previous Winners Include:

2023Bailey Hutchins, Toombs County
2022Sara Pawlik, Forsyth County
2021Asher Childs, Grady County