Skip to Content

William H. Booth Award

Each year in conjunction with the Georgia Electric Membership Corpor­ation (EMC), GAE4-HYDP presents the William H. Booth Award. The award recognizes outstanding Georgia extension agents working in the 4-H program. It is an honor acknowledging both peer recognition and career achievement.

William (Bill) Booth was a rural electric pioneer who was a charter member of the board of directors and general manager of Jackson EMC in Jefferson, Ga. It was Booth who first suggested that Georgia’s 41 EMCs take a hand in sponsoring statewide 4-H and youth events. Each district elects one GAE4-HYDP member with 7+ years experience to be the district nominee.  Nominees complete a rigorous application and interview process, and the state winner is named each year at State 4-H Congress in July.  GAE4-HYDP established guidelines for awarding the William H. Booth Award on an annual basis.

GAE4-HYDP established the following guidelines for awarding the William H. Booth award on an annual basis: William H. Booth Award Guidelines.

2022 Recipient: Sheila Marchant, Jeff Davis County

“All children can learn, achieve, prosper, and be given the opportunity to reach goals and milestones in a safe, caring environment. One of the best attributes of extension work is that no two days are ever the same. Incorporating this flexibility into programming fosters positive youth development. It is my passion to allow all children to learn in non-typical ways. 4-H has fostered the love of learning for many children and it is my passion to see them achieve where their own passion lies. It has been a calling to serve as a youth development professional and I have committed my career to the youth of Jeff Davis County. Success for me is seeing that I have made a difference in the life of a child.”

Past Winners Include

1979Gene Anderson
1980Pat Barkuloo
1981Patt Bell
1982Jeanette Brooks
1983Irene DuBose
1984Barbara Carter
1985Dawn Perry
1986Doris Belcher
1987Mary H. White
1988Beth Epling
1989Emma Thornton
1990Diane Moore
1991Marilyn Poole
1992Lorraine Payne
1993Helen Barrett
1994Rachel Guthrie
1995Ginny Atkins
1996Sally Black
1997Susan Branan
1998Clyde Taylor
1999Connie Page
2000Kathy Baldwin
2001Diane Sumner
2002Teresa Harvey
2003Phil Torrance
2004Judy Ashley
2005Jule-Lynne Macie
2006Lynn Youngblood
2007Sandra McKinney
2008Melinda Miller
2009Rebecca Thomas
2010Jennifer Grogan
2011Ann Wildes
2012Deron Rehberg
2013Zona Medley
2014Shirley Williamson
2015Dorothea Graham
2016Cherry Hovatter
2017Stephanie Myers
2018Kate Whiting
2019Brandi McGonagill
2020Cheryl Poppell
2021Kevin Tatum
2022Sheila Marchant