Friend of 4-H Award

Since 1974, the Georgia Association of Extension 4-H Youth Development Professionals has recognized the outstanding support and personal involvement in Georgia 4-H programming efforts with the Friend of 4-H Award. Given to an individual, group of people, or business/organization, this award signifies important contributions in helping to fulfill the Georgia 4-H vision and mission. GAE4-HYDP solicits nominations annually from its members and votes on the recipient(s) each spring.

2023 Recipient: Gary Black

(L-R) Jakyn Tyson, GAE4-HYDP President; Gary Black, Friend of 4-H Award Recipient; Melanie Biersmith, State 4-H Leader

Previous Winners Include

2023Gary Black
Former Georgia Commissioner of Agriculture
2022Georgia Association of Educational Leaders (GAEL)
2021Doris Belcher
Retired 4-H Extension Agent
2020George Lee
Retired, 4-H Program Development Coordinator
2019Don Bower
FACS Professor Emeritus and Extension Specialist
2018Governor Nathan Deal
State of Georgia
2017Ronnie Silcox
Retired, UGA Animal and Dairy Science Professor
2016Allen Nasworthy
Fortson 4-H Center Director

Beverly Sparks
Director of CES; Associate Dean CAES
2015Gale Cutler
Georgia EMC
2014Bo Ryles
Retired, State 4-H Leader
2013Gail Hanula
UGA FACS Specialist

Rep. Johnny Bulloch
Georgia House of Representatives
2012Wanda Barrs
Chairwoman, State Board of Education
2011Mike & Karen Garrett
Retired, President, Georgia Power; 4-H Foundation
2010Scott Angle
Dean, CAES
2009Horace Hamilton
Kroger Cabin Campaign
2008Rep. Bob Smith
Georgia House of Representatives

Jim & Renee Williamson
Saint Simons Island Donors
2007Bill Edwards
Associate State 4-H Leader
2006Mel Garber
Director of CES; Associate Dean CAES

Robert & Maxine Burton
Burton 4-H Center Benefactors
2005Paul Wood
President and CEO, Georgia EMC
2004Robert & Regena Whitaker
Founders, Camp Fortson

Wayne Dollar
President, Georgia Farm Buraau
2003Rep. Richard Royal
Georgia House of Representatives
2002Herman Talmadge Family
2001Lt. Gov. Mark F. Taylor
State of Georgia
2000Frank Carter
Georgia 4-H Foundation Trustee
1999Pat Barkaloo
Tift County Extension Agent

Rep. Ann Purcell
Georgia House of Representatives

Rep. Billy Ray
Georgia House of Representatives
1998Thomas F. Rodgers
State 4-H Leader
1997Wayne Shackelford
Commissioner, GA Department of Transportation
1996Six Flags Over Georgia
1995Charles Inman
Georgia State Fair
1994Edmund Taylor Gas, Inc.
Georgia 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees
1993Mort Ewing
President, Georgia Farm Bureau
1992Rep. Frank E. Stancil
Georgia House of Representatives
1991Harold Darden
Associate State 4-H Leader

Martha H. Jones
State Home Economics Leader, State 4-H Staff

Tommy Walton
State 4-H Leader
1990Oglethorpe Power Corporation
1989Edgar Rhodes
Chairman, Board of Regents
1988Tom Murphy
Speaker of the House
1987Margy De George
Georgia Power
1986Rep. Charles Allen
1985Olin Ginn
Georgia Power

Nat Harrison

Frank Bunch
1984Fred Greer
Citizens & Southern Bank; 4-H Foundation Trustee
1983Frances Tegeder
Atlanta Gas Light
1982Para Lee Brock
The 4-H Hour
1981Georgia Power
1980Georgia Bankers Association
1979Bobby Carroll
Georgia House of Representatives
1978Charles Kent
Chairman, Association of County Commissioners
1977Julius Benton
Savannah Sugar
1976Georgia Association of Superintendents
1975No Award
1974Pat Lahatte
Atlanta Journal