Skip to Content

Sparkling Wine Production Conference Details and Registration

The 2019 Georgia Sparkling Wine Production Conference will take place from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM on May 22 at Wolf Mountain Vineyards (180 Wolf Mountain Trail, Dahlonega, GA 30533).

Thanks to Brannon, Karl, and their staff for hosting us.


We are fortunate to have national and local experts from both industry and academics join us at this conference. Michael is flying out from California and Jeff is flying out from Kentucky. Please plan to attend and learn about all facets of sparkling wine production, a niche market of our industry that is becoming increasingly popular for production and consumption. In addition to giving presentations, speakers will be bringing sparkling wine products for attendees to sample.

Here is the detailed agenda:

9:00 AM: Registration and Welcome; Cain Hickey, University of Georgia Extension Viticulture Extension Specialist

9:30 AM: Methods for Sparkling Wine Production; Michael Jones, Scott Laboratories

10:15 AM: Filtration Considerations for Sparkling Wine Production; Maria Peterson, Scott Laboratories

11:00 AM: BREAK

11:20 AM: Small-scale Sparkling Wine Production; Michael Jones, Scott Laboratories

12:15 PM: Lunch, catered by Wolf Mountain Vineyards Culinary staff and served with Wolf Mountain Vineyards sparkling wine

1:30 PM: Georgia Growers Roundtable: Discussion of Production Methods for Georgia-Produced Sparkling Wines (with tasting of product from each presenter); Brannon Boegner, Wolf Mountain Vineyards; Hezzie Patrick, Three Sisters Vineyards; Simone Bergese, Chateau Elan Winery

2:45 PM: BREAK

3:00 PM: Equipment Required to Produce Traditional Method Sparkling Wine; Jeff Wheeler, University of Kentucky Enology Extension Specialist

3:45 PM: Non-traditional grape cultivars for sparkling wine in Georgia; Jeff Wheeler, University of Kentucky Enology Extension Specialist

4:30 PM: Adjourn


Registration is $50.00 per person. Pre-registration is required, and can only be done by going to this link and registering before noon EST on Monday, May 20: