Skip to Content

Webinar: Making the Connection: On Agriculture, the Water Cycle & Our Changing Climate

Here is a listing for a webinar on agriculture, water and climate that is being offered by the Longmont CO science museum on Thursday October 14 at 7:15 pm MDT (9:15 pm Eastern Time and 8:15 pm Central Time). According to their website, “The Earth system is interconnected, and the water cycle is one important connection that scientists study. A changing climate can affect precipitation patterns which in turn can impact agriculture and society. But did you know that how we manage our land also has dramatic impacts on our climate system? In this Explorer Series conversation, discover the connections between plants, the water cycle and our changing climate, and opportunities to get involved.” According to their webpage, you can view the talk live on the museum’s Facebook page on Thursday night, and a link is provided. It looks interesting and I am looking forward to watching it.

Irrigation at work on the UGA Tifton Campus. It is May 23 and has been a couple of weeks since South Georgia has received substantial rainfall. With little to no rain in the forecast, farmers are utilizing irrigation to water their crops.