Because of the drought that has been affecting the Southeast, including most of Georgia, the Georgia Environmental Protection Division declared a Level 1 drought response for 103 counties in the state.

A Level 1 Drought Response does not require specific watering restrictions beyond what is normally in place but requires that water utilities will circulate drought and water conservation information in one or more of the following: newspaper advertisements, water bill inserts, website homepages, social media and notices posted in public libraries.   A map with the affected counties is shown below. Note that the City of Griffin and the Coweta County Water and Sewerage Authority are currently under variances due to low water supplies in those areas.

If you want to know more about the various types of drought declarations in Georgia, you can read more at