Skip to Content

USDA designates Georgia counties as natural disaster areas

Last week the USDA designed six Georgia counties as primary natural disaster areas due to recent drought conditions.  In addition to the primary counties, there are nine additional counties in Georgia and four in Florida that are included in the drought designation due to their location adjoining one of the primary counties.  You can get more information at Growing Georgia here.  The designation makes farmers eligible for low-interest emergency loans as well as additional sources of help.

Dry ground.  Source:,_South_Texas,_Late_March_2013.JPG

Dry ground. Source:,_South_Texas,_Late_March_2013.JPG